Women on Wednesdays
Women in Conservation

Women on Wednesdays

March is Women’s History Month, and normally Audubon Texas joins the celebration with the Texas Women in Conservation Luncheon featuring the Terry Hershey Awards, an event that celebrates trailblazers and helps fund the next generation of women in conservation. Due to current circumstances, our next official event will take place in Spring 2022…but that doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate 2021 in different ways! 

This spring, “Women on Wednesdays” will take a look back at the Texas Women in Conservation Program, its Terry Hershey awardees (as well as Terry Hershey herself!), the Audubon Conservation Leaders Program for Young Women and some of its participants, and the generous sponsors who make this important work possible. 

You can partner with us in this important work with your gift in support of Texas Women in Conservation ... just click "Donate" at right!

Join us here each Wednesday, or find us on social media: Facebook (@audubontexas), Instagram (@audubontexas), and Twitter (@AudubonTX).

Wednesday, April 14: ACL Students in Their Own Words

Who better to talk about what the ACL program has taught its students than the students themselves? Several of our 2020-21 program participants provided their perspective to our Virtual Texas Women in Conservation event last fall. Hear for yourself below!

Wednesday, April 7: Audubon Conservation Leaders Program for Young Women

The Terry Hershey Awards help celebrate the path women have forged in conservation in Texas. The Audubon Conservation Leaders Program for Young Women (ACL) launches the next generation of women conservationists down that path. Despite COVID-19 restrictions transitioning this yearlong in-person program to the virtual space, the ACL program has continued to thrive, experiencing its best growth since its inception. Click here to read an overview of this program, and check back on Wednesdays in April to get to know some of this year's students and the opportunities ahead this summer and beyond.

Wednesday, March 31: Behind the Scenes of the Terry Hershey Awards with Lydia Saldaña

A signature element of the Terry Hershey Awards is the honoree video. Colleagues, friends, and family join award winners to tell the story of their amazing accomplishments...in 4 minutes or less! These videos are much-loved tributes to these outstanding female conservationists. And the vision behind every video is Lydia Saldaña.

Lydia is a writer, video producer, public relations practitioner, podcaster, and media communications trainer who has been communicating about natural resource conservation issues for more than 30 years. She has worked with Audubon Texas to produce video profiles of Terry Hershey Award winners for Audubon’s Texas Women in Conservation program since the award’s inception in 2015. Lydia also serves as part-time Communications Director for Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation (TPWF), a position she has held since 2014. Her body of work represents the Borderlands Research Institute, Texas Agricultural Land Trust, Texas Wildlife Association and the Texas Coastal Coalition. Prior to 2014, Lydia was Communications Division Director for Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for many years. Before her TPWD career, she was a broadcast journalist in Dallas/Fort Worth and Austin.

Lydia's team travels across the state to capture the heart of each year's Terry Hershey winners. Her visual storytelling and beautiful production is as much an award as the commemorative pendants each winner receives. You've seen the final videos throughout the month; now enjoy this peek "behind the scenes" with Lydia!

Wednesday, March 24: Terry Hershey Winners, 2018-2020

Texas Women in Conservation continued to grow statewide and returned to Houston in 2018, where honorees included Claire Caudill, Linda Shead, and Maxine Johnston. Click here for more

Austin was the site of the 2019 luncheon, with Terry Hersey Award winners Hon. Valarie Bristol, Carolyn Chipman Evans, Susan Kaderka, and Dianne Wassenich. Click here for more

Finally, the 2020 awards were scheduled for March 25 in Dallas. Just two weeks before the event, the onset of COVID-19 forced a delay, but we weren't going to miss honoring Anne Brown, Janette Monear, Julie Shackelford, and Gail Thomas! The Virtual Texas Women in Conservation took place in October. Click here for more

Wednesday, March 17: Terry Hershey Winners, 2015-2017

This week and next, we highlight winners from the past six years. Today, we invite you to learn more about our honorees from 2015 to 2017. At the links below, you can read bios of these outstanding women and view the inspiring videos highlighting their contributions and presented at the luncheon as they received their awards.

The Texas Women in Conservation luncheon, featuring the inaugural Terry Hershey Awards, debuted in Houston in February 2015. Honorees included Carol Dinkins, Mary Anne Piacentini, Susan Rieff, and Ellen Temple. Click here for more

In 2016, the luncheon was held in Fort Worth and featured Janice Bezanson, Deborah Clark, Ann Hamilton, Marty Leonard. Click here for more

San Antonio was the site for the 2017 event, with Terry Hershey awards presented to Blair Fitzsimons, Karen Hixon, Susan Hughes, Ruth Lofgren. Click here for more


Wednesday, March 10: Terry Hershey, the Woman Behind the Award

Learn all about Terry Hershey and hear from conservation leaders around the state in the Terry Hershey tribute video. Click here for more


Check back each week for more "Women on Wednesdays"!